News: 2014, June 5th


Four honored with Distinguished Dissertation Awards


Four recent Auburn University graduates have been selected as winners of the Graduate School’s 2013-14 Distinguished Dissertation Awards.

Award winners are Yingsong Huang, Kailash Jajam and Hema Ramsurn in the Mathematics/Physical Sciences/Engineering category and Mallory Lucier-Greer in the Social Sciences category. Huang and Lucier-Greer will go on to compete for the Council of Graduate Schools/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards.

The Distinguished Dissertation Awards recognize the scholarship of doctoral students whose dissertations make an unusually significant contribution to their respective disciplines. Auburn’s colleges and schools nominate students for the awards, and an award committee composed of graduate faculty selects the award winners.

This year’s winning dissertations are:

Award winners receive an honorarium of $500 and a certificate.

The two categories for the Distinguished Dissertation Awards rotate each year. The Graduate School will solicit nominations in the fall for the 2014-15 categories: Biological/Life Sciences and Humanities/Fine Arts.

Last modified: December 19, 2016