Master’s Thesis Awards


The Graduate School is pleased to announce that up to six outstanding master’s students will be recognized with the Auburn University Graduate School’s Master’s Thesis Awards.

The application process, selection criteria, and award categories are modeled after the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools’ Master’s Thesis Awards, so that selected award-winners from Auburn may also be nominated for these regional awards at the appropriate time.

Winners of the award will be recognized at the Graduate School’s annual awards ceremony with an honorarium of $250 and a citation. Upon the recommendation of the Awards Committee, the Graduate School may nominate winners of the awards for the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools’ Master’s Thesis Awards.

Each college/school is invited to select and nominate up to three students (in each award category as appropriate) for the Graduate School awards. If a college/school nominates more than three students in any one category, the Graduate School will contact one of the unit's associate deans (or another designee) to downselect the top three candidates.

The deadline for submission to the Graduate School is July 30. If this date falls over a weekend or holiday, submissions are due by 8:00 am CT on the next business day.

For more information, contact Dr. Maria Witte in the Graduate School at

Nomination form

Past Recipients

Year Name College/School
2022 Rebecca Mosier Sociology
  Sophie Boorman Veterinary Medicine
  Charles Herron Poultry Science
  Gagandeep Kaur Crop, Soil and Environmental Science
  Oluwakemisola Olofintila Plant Sciences
  Bipin Tiwari Aerospace Engineering
2021 Rory Aurora Gernert Sociology
  Carolyn Ritchey Psychology
  Darshika Hettiarachchi Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures
  Andrew Johnson Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures
  Amrit Pal Poultry Science
  Yilue Zhang Pharmaceutical Sciences
2020 Sanjita Wasti Biosystems Engineering
  Jessica Brown History
  Vitale Castellano Mechanical Engineering
  Rajveer Singh Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences
  Karthekeyan Sridhar Mechanical Engineering
  Nathan Backenstose Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures
2019 Hentry Hershey Agriculture
  Jasmine Kataria Agriculture
  John Canfield Interdepartmental Programss
  Julio Yanes Liberal Arts
  Connor Martz Human Sciences
  Micah Brett Warren Agriculture
2018 Zachary Johnston Humanities and Fine Arts
  Nicole Habbit Chemical Engineering
  Alex Locker Mechanical Engineering
  Kritika Malhotra Biosystems Engineering
  Sagar Tamang Civil Engineering
  Zhongtian Zhang Biosystems Engineering
2017 Steven Kitchens Life Sciences
  Sarah Lessard Life Sciences
  Andrea Cole Wahl Life Sciences
  Paige Hartman Psychology
  Lauren Kirby Psychology
  Nadratu Nuhu Psychology
2016 Yvette Jones History
  Felipe Moraga Foreign Language
  Matthew O'Neal History
  Manjinder Kaur Biosystems Engineering
  John Pierce Mechanical Engineering
  Lingling Yang Civil Engineering
2015 Jeff Chieppa Forestry and Wildlife Sciences
  Jacqueline Gimmler Veterinary Medicine
  Millie Harrison Liberal Arts
  Xia Li Sciences and Mathematics
  Annelise Mowry Sciences and Mathematics
  Derek Pope Liberal Arts
2014 Carmen Chosie Engineering
  Clinton Crum Liberal Arts
  Jessica Godwin Sciences and Mathematics
  Álvaro López Pajares Liberal Arts
  Julianna Rabeler Liberal Arts
  Oscar Sotomayor Engineering
2013 Stefanie Christensen Agriculture
  Zach DeVries Agriculture
  Meng Ding Human Sciences
  Kate Taylor Harcourt Human Sciences
  Kelly Martin Human Sciences
  Saranrat Wittayanukorn Pharmacy
2012 Leah Craig Liberal Arts
Harrison Meadows Liberal Arts
Brandon Swan Sciences and Mathematics
Zachary Wakefield Liberal Arts

Last modified: June 20, 2023