News: 2011, April 26th


Graduate Students Recognized at Awards Luncheon

The Graduate School and Graduate Student Council hosted a luncheon on April 21, 2011 for graduate students who won awards this year in several categories.

George Flowers, Dean of the Graduate School, and George Crandell, Associate Dean, gave the Distinguished Dissertation Awards,  Merriwether Fellowships, Outstanding Masters and Doctoral Students, and recognized winners of the 2011 Graduate Scholars Symposium.

Below is the full list of winners recognized:

Distinguished Dissertation Award (Social Sciences)

Min Carter (Business)

Suna Eryigit (Human Sciences)

Mary Beth Harben (Human Sciences)

Distinguished Dissertation Award (Math, Physical Sciences, and Engineering)

Hasan Kocer (Engineering)

Michael Tiemeyer (Mathematics)

Ziliang Zong (Engineering)


Outstanding Master’s Students

Michael F. Chislock (Fisheries and Allied Aquacultures)

Larissa Ferretti (Human Development and Family Studies)

Kenneth E. Games (Kinesiology, Exercise Science)

Kyle Patrick Lynch (Aerospace Engineering)

Nicholas “Nick” A. Martin (Forestry and Wildlife Sciences)

Daniel L. Mundie (Civil Engineering)

Hossein Noori (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Chandru Periasamy (Mechanical Engineering)

Jessica Deene Stephens (Biological Sciences)

Mary Clair Thompson (Mathematics and Statistics)


Outstanding Doctoral Students

Ermanno Affuso (Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology)

Jordan Michele Bailey (Psychology)

David John Branscomb (Polymer & Fiber Engineering)

Adam Joseph Byrd (Chemical Engineering)

Starla Dallesasse (Special Education, Rehabilitation, and Counseling)

Laura Kristin Estep (Biological Sciences)

Matthew Kayatin (Chemical Engineering)

Esther Ndumi Ngumbi (Entomology )

Venkata Sambasivarao Somisetti (Chemistry and Biochemistry)

Nhong Van Tran (Applied Economics)


Merriwether Fellowship

Jeremy Dawkins (Mechanical Engineering)

John Magnotti (Psychology)

Steven R. Saunders (Chemical Engineering)

Kanchana Weerakoon (Materials Engineering)


1st Annual Graduate Scholars Symposium Winners

Engineering Oral Presentations

1st Place

Courtney Ober, Chemical Engineering

Tie for 2nd Place

Vaishali Sharda , Biosystems Engineering

Rui Xu, Chemical Engineering

Science Oral Presentations

1st Place

William Reid, Entomology and Plant Pathology

2nd Place

Amy Skibiel, Biological Sciences

3rd Place

Nathan Kirk, Biological Sciences

Humanities Oral Presentations

1st Place

Maureen Young, Human Development and Family Studies

2nd Place

Ildiko Juhasz, Communication and Journalism

3rd Place

Joni Richards, Communication and Journalism

Engineering Poster Presentations

1st Place

Buket Demir, Polymer and Fiber Engineering

2nd Place

Samuel Chang, Chemical Engineering

3rd Place

Hema Ramsurn, Chemical Engineering

Science Poster Presentations

1st Place

Maninder Sandey, Veterinary Biomedical Sciences

2nd Place

Rodrigo A. Gallardo, Pathobiology

3rd Place

Md. Alam, Geology

Design Poster Presentations

1st Place

Mark Matel and Team OAMSC, Design-Build

Tie for 2nd Place

Will Hargrove, Landscape Architecture

Tyler Smithson, Landscape Architecture

Last modified: January 27, 2017