News: 2015, March 19th


2015 Merriwether Fellows, Outstanding Graduate Students announced


Twenty-four Auburn University graduate students have been selected as winners of three of the Graduate School’s annual awards.

Twenty students have been selected as the 2014-15 Outstanding Graduate Student Award honorees, while four doctoral students have been selected for the Merriwether Fellowship. From the Outstanding Graduate Student honorees at the doctoral level, Aubrey Beal was also chosen as the Graduate School’s President’s Award winner.

The Merriwether Fellowship is awarded to doctoral students who show great promise in their academic fields. First awarded in 1971, the fellowship provides a $2,000 stipend and is the result of an anonymous donation in honor of Harry Merriwether, a 1943 Auburn graduate. The Outstanding Graduate Student Awards recognize Auburn’s most distinguished graduate students. Ten students are chosen at the master’s/educational specialist level, and 10 more are chosen at the doctoral level.

Departments nominate students for the awards, and the winners are then chosen by a committee of graduate faculty.

The students will be recognized with other award winners at the Graduate School’s annual awards ceremony on Thursday, April 23, in the Student Center Ballroom.

Award winners and their areas of study are listed below.

Merriwether Fellows

  • Kamaljit Banger (Forestry and Wildlife Sciences)
  • Allen Sabey (Human Development and Family Studies)
  • Hyejin Park (Materials Engineering)
  • Mallory Anne Porch (English)

Outstanding Doctoral Students 

  • Aubrey Beal (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
  • Kamaljit Banger (Forestry and Wildlife Sciences)
  • Burcu Ozden (Physics)
  • Emily Graff (Pathobiology)
  • Julianne McGill (Human Development and Family Studies)
  • Robert Herring (Chemical Engineering)
  • Symon Gathiaka (Chemistry)
  • Tania McKey (Educational Foundations, Leadership and Technology)
  • Tolulope Morawo (Entomology and Plant Pathology)
  • Lindsey Zanchettin (English)

Outstanding Master’s Students

  • Sandy Morrison (Human Development and Family Studies)
  • Adrien-Maxence Hespel (Clinical Sciences)
  • Alex Kelly (Chemical Engineering)
  • J. Forrest Shirley (Pathobiology)
  • Sneha Neupane (Biosystems Engineering)
  • Carla Weissend (Animal Sciences)
  • Michael Perez (Civil Engineering)
  • Nathaniel Carson (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Paige Busby (English)
  • Yuxiang Zheng (Mathematics and Statistics)

President’s Award

Aubrey Beal (Electrical and Computer Engineering)

To read more about the Graduate School’s annual awards, visit the Web page.

Last modified: July 12, 2016