News: 2015, October 23rd


Six honored with 2015 Master’s Thesis Awards


Six recent Auburn University graduates have been selected as winners of the Graduate School’s 2015 Master’s Thesis Awards.

Award winners are Millie Harrison, Xia Li and Derek Pope in the Social Sciences/Business/Education category; and Jeff Chieppa, Jacqueline Gimmler and Annelise Mowry in the Life Sciences category.

Pope and Mowry have also been nominated to represent Auburn at the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools’ Master’s Thesis Awards competition.

The Master’s Thesis Awards recognize the scholarship of master’s students whose theses make an unusually significant contribution to their respective disciplines. Auburn’s colleges and schools nominate students for the awards, and an award committee named by the Graduate School selects the winners for the two categories.

This year’s winning theses are:

Award winners receive an honorarium of $250 and a certificate, which is presented at the Graduate School’s annual awards ceremony each spring.

The categories for the Master’s Thesis Awards rotate each year. The Graduate School is now soliciting nominations for the 2016 categories: Mathematics/Physical Sciences/Engineering and Humanities/Fine Arts.

Last modified: March 17, 2016